DEBESMSCAT remembers the founding of MNAS

founding anniversary of MNAS

DEBESMSCAT Personnel and students commemorate the 67th founding anniversary of the Masbate National Agricultural School (MNAS) on November 15, 2019, at Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa’s monument.

MNAS was established on November 15, 1952, by virtue of RA 605 authored by Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa, Sr. Nearly fourteen years later, it was renamed to Masbate Agricultural College (MAC) by virtue of RA 4717 by the then-congressman and ConCon delegate, Hon. Andres R. Clemente, Jr on June 18, 1966.

MAC was renamed to Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa, Sr. Memorial Agricultural College (DEBESMAC) on July 30, 1977, by Resolution No. 136, s. 1976 executed by the then President Ferdinand Marcos enacted by the Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Masbate on December 8, 1976.

DEBESMSCAT became Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa, Sr. Memorial State College of Agriculture and Technology (DEBESMSCAT) in March 1995 by virtue of RA 7945.

Currently, the college is in the verge of its transition to universityhood which will change the name from DEBESMSCAT to Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa, Sr. – Masbate State University (DEBESMSU) by virtue of RA11171 following compliance to CHEd requirements which the administration eyes to comply for within the next three years.

“November 15 is the most important day for DEBESMSCAT. Without it, DEBESMSCAT cannot and will not exist,” says Dr. Renee A. Lamela, SUC President III.